New New Old Profile Email www.diaryland.com


Your tool doesn't work so you want me to do it all manually?
11:36 p.m. - 2009-04-28


I got bad news at work today - well, not the bad news people are getting these days ( Sorry, thanks for all your work but we're downsizing and unfortunately your position has been eliminated. Good luck finding your next job.)

No, just the usual crap that goes on in an office when a new tool is being rolled out. They are launching the tool and it isn't complete, lots of bugs, limited testing, delayed training, oh - and not importing all the data from the previous database. Yep. Sounds like a great situation, huh? The fun continues - for all the active projects going on, the PM has to create the new work tickets and in some cases the workflow in the new tool - because get this - that part of the functionality won't be in the initial launch. It only doubles, if not triples, my work load for next week. And this is only a partial rollout. I'll get to do again at least 2 more times, depending on how they break up the work. All of this I could accept - I've done software deployments before, I know the situation. BUT - BUT - this is the THIRD release of this tool and the previous two releases were done in the same damn way!! Don't these fricking people LEARN from their mistakes?! Apparently not. And believe me, the last 2 releases have been ugly, frustrating, discouraging, and a mess for several months. They keep saying the next release will solve all the problems. The next release will save TIME, save MONEY, save hassles, and SAVE THE WORLD. Yeah, right.

The release is in 2 days. Training is in two days. Why is it so difficult to be logical, prepared, and conscientious (sp??) about your users???? Oh dear me, there I go again, having such high expectations. Just what am I thinking?

Mood:

0 comments so far

previous - next

What if you don't have your health? - 2010-02-10
Homeless? - 2009-12-10
Painful admission - 2009-09-23
Unconditional love - 2009-06-06
Inspiring Procrastination - 2009-05-11

Diary template created by rainfalls. No longer an active d-lander.
Want your own diary?